Lamar University Staff Senate August 10, 2010

Senators present:

Sherri Fitzgerald, Steve Ford, Valarie Black, Diann Brodnax, Kathleen Andrews, Barb Barker-Milstead, Susan Daniel, Lena Francis, Dr. Mary Gagne, Megan Hale, Sharlene Hatch, Dimples Jones, Irma Jones, Cynthia Ksiazek, Anna Lalonde, Diana Licatino, Paula McNeel, Aarin Penry, Debby Piper, Doug Sampson, Sharon Sanders, Carmen Savant, Stephanie Simmons, Natasha Walker, and Donna Wilridge.

I. Call to Order

President, Sherri Fitzgerald, called the meeting to order at 10:07am.

II. Roll Call

Secretary, Diann Brodnax called roll. A quorum was seated.

III. Minutes

Megan Hale made a motion and Sharlene Hatch seconded to accept the July 2010 minutes with corrections. The Senate unanimously approved the July 2010 minutes.

IV. Committee Reports

Executive Committee:

The exec committee will meet with Dr. Simmons and Mr. Lovitt on August 16, 2010

Bylaws Committee:

Staff Senators voted on changes in the Bylaws. Dimples Jones made a motion and Debby Piper seconded to accept the changes. The Senate unanimously approved the Bylaw changes.

Community Service Committee: None

Compensation and Budget: None

Issues Committee: None

Nominations Committee:

Staff Senate Executive voting ballots were passed out and senators voted on President, Vice President, and Secretary. The results: President ~Sherri Fitzgerald, Vice President ~ Stephanie Simmons, and Secretary ~ Diann Brodnax.

Staff Awards Committee: None

V. Unfinished Business

Graduate staff tuition issue will be addressed by the Issues Committee in the future.

VI. New Business

Donna Wilridge raised a list of concerns from the Lamar custodial staff. The issue will be addressed at the next Staff Senate Executive meeting.

VII. Good of the Order

Lamar is offering a bus ride to the first football game held at McNeese stadium. The cost is \$50 per person and will include one ticket, bus fare, and refreshments.

Cynthia Ksiazek reminded everyone to update your emergency contact information.

Sherri Fitzgerald, President, handed awards to four senators for their attendance while serving the 2006-2009 terms. The senators receiving the award: Diann Brodnax, Irma Jones, Gail Martel, and Kim Wiley. Congratulations.

An announcement was made that an online Master's degree is offered at Lamar through the Academic Partnerships.

A reception followed the meeting for out-going and in-coming senators.

VIII. Adjournment

Motion was made by Douglas Sampson to adjourn, Aarin Penry seconded, and all were in favor. The meeting was adjourned at 10:41 a.m.

OPEN MEETING

LAMAR UNIVERSITY STAFF SENATE MEETING

September 14, 2010 10:00 A.M. Gray Library 8th Floor

- I. CALL TO ORDER
- II. ROLL CALL
- **III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES**
- **IV. COMMITTEE REPORTS**
- V. UNFINISHED BUSINESS
- VI. NEW BUSINESS
- VII. GOOD OF THE ORDER
- VIII. ADJOURNMENT